Universities of Australia - Northern Territory and Tasmania

> >Study in NT or Tassie

Looking for information about universities of Australia in Northern Territory and Tasmania? Here is more about two universities that offer various courses tailored to the population of the two regions. They also cater to the education needs of international students.

Tasmania covers an area almost 20 times smaller than that of Northern Territory (NT), but its population is more than double that of NT.

Now don't be surprised by the difference  and don't imagine that Tasmania is overcrowded. Numbers are relative.

Northern Territory has the third largest land area in Australia, but the smallest population with less than 250,000 inhabitants.  

And  each of NT and Tassie have a university.

Universities of Australia - Charles Darwin University

The first university there came into being only in 1989 under the name of Northern Territory University. In 2004 its name became Charles Darwin (CDU). 

Before that date, students in Darwin could enrol into post secondary studies at the Adult Education Centre, which later became a Community College and then was known as the Darwin Institute of Technology. For those who wanted a degree the  universities in Adelaide offered good options.

Charles Darwin University offers both higher education with undergraduate and postgraduate degrees and vocational training. The areas of study include engineering, science, health, environment, law, business, arts, education, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander studies.

There are five campuses and three education centres. 


  • Casuarina, the largest campus, is located about 12 km away from the centre of Darwin. 
  • Alice Springs, in the red centre of Australia, is a large campus, with various undergraduate courses in many disciplines and also vocational studies. In addition postgraduate students can work on their research programs, with a focus on Indigenous health, environment and economy.  
  • Katherine, about 300 km south of Darwin, offers vocational programs and agricultural and rural economy training.  
  • Palmerston, in the satellite city 20 km south of Darwin, is a hub for vocational studies in areas such as tourism, hospitality, retail, children services and education, land management, business, IT.  
  • Nhulunbuy, is in the Arnhem Land region, about 650 km east of Darwin. It offers vocational courses in IT, business, engineering, children services. The qualifications go up to certificate IV level.  


  • Jabiru, a small town, 250 km east of Darwin, in the tourist area of the Kakadu National Park. Students can enrol in vocational courses to study IT, business, education, community services, horticulture, tourism.  
  • Tennant Creek has courses in trades and vocational education. It caters to the population living north of Alice Springs.  
  • Yulara, near the famous Ayers Rock, or Uluru, offers short or long term vocational or trades courses.

The university has a large number of international students and has a special program with the government of the territory which can help graduates with at least two years of studying at CDU to be eligible for sponsored migration.

For more information about degrees, fees, or how to enrol visit www.cdu.edu.au

Universities of Australia - Tasmania

The University of Tasmania is the fourth oldest of Australian universities, after the Sydney Uni (1850), University of Melbourne (1853) and University of Adelaide (1874).

It was established in 1890 in the beautiful city of Hobart. 


In 1991 it merged with the Tasmanian State Institute of Technology in Launceston and incorporated the Australian Maritime College in 2008. 

You can enrol in undergraduate and postgraduate studies in a broad range of disciplines such as: arts, business, education, health, law, sciences, engineering, maritime and marine studies, including courses dedicated to Antarctica and ocean environment. 

The University has three campuses in Tasmania and two in Sydney:

  • The Hobart Campus in Sandy Bay, houses the School of Art  and the Conservatorium of Music. In addition the School of Medicine and the Menzies Research Institute are located in Hobart's CBD, near the Royal Hospital. 
  • The Launceston Campus in Newnham is home to the Australian Maritime College. You can also study architecture or performing arts in Launceston, at Inveresk. 
  • The Cradle Coast Campus in Burnie offers courses in disciplines such as business, education, art, social science. You can study for your full bachelor of masters degree there. However for some courses you can only enrol in the first year and continue at a different campus. The Rural Clinical School is there too. 
  • The Darlinghurst and Rozelle campuses are both close to central Sydney and offer health studies in nursing.

Like this page?

Related pages

Canberra uni

UTS and other unis in Sydney

Ayers Rock


Books about the marvels of Northern Territory and Tasmania from Amazon