Universities in Melbourne

> >Where to study in Melbourne

Many famous Australian personalities graduated from universities in Melbourne. There are many entry pathways, flexible programs and students can choose among a huge number of courses, with some Melbourne universities offering both tertiary and vocational programs.  

There are five universities in the capital of Victoria: Melbourne Uni, RMIT, Swinburne, Monash and Victoria University.

Other 4 universities have campuses in Melbourne: Deakin, La Trobe, Federation and Australian Catholic University.

With a cheaper cost of living than Sydney and a very vibrant multicultural environment, Melbourne has more students than its NSW rival city, and a larger proportion of international students.

University of Melbourne

The University of Melbourne was established in 1853 and is the second oldest of the universities in Australia, the first being Sydney University.

Melbourne Uni offers degrees at bachelor level, masters level and doctoral level. It teaches a broad range of courses that include arts, economics, architecture and building, education, engineering, law, land, health and medicine, music and performing arts, sciences.

If you are interested in postgraduate studies, there are several graduate schools that offer various programs in the fields of business and economics, law, humanities and social sciences, health and medicine, design, engineering, education, creative arts and music, science, veterinary science, environment. 

Many personalities in politics, culture, academia, science, business are associated with the University of Melbourne, including four Austalian scientists who won the Nobel prize in physiology or medicine:

  • Sir Frank Macfarlane Burnet - in 1960, 
  • Sir John Carew Eccles - in 1963, 
  • Peter Doherty - in 1996. While he studied at one of Queensland Universities, he works for the University of Melbourne. 
  • Elizabeth Helen Blackburn - in 2009.

The main campus is in Parkville. Other campuses are in Southbank, Burnley, Hawthorn, Werribee, and in regional Victoria: in Creswick, Dookie, Shepparton.

Universities in Melbourne - RMIT

The Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT) traces its origins back to 1887, which would make it one of the oldest of the universities in Australia. However at that time it was a "Working Men's College". It became a higher education institution only in 1960. 

RMIT has campuses in the City of Melbourne and the suburbs of Bundoora and Brunswick and offers a variety of degrees from its twenty four schools grouped under three academic colleges: business, design and social context, science, engineering and health.

All the three colleges offer a choice of higher education programs and TAFE courses. So, a lot of flexibility to study for a career.

And if you decide to study there, you may want to know that one of the international public figures who has a Doctor of Design degree from RMIT is Edward de Bono, known for his studies in creativity and lateral thinking. 

Universities in Melbourne - Swinburne

Swinburne University of Technology has six campuses in Melbourne: Hawthorne, Croydon - near Mt Dandenong, Lilydale, Healesville, the trendy Prahran, Wantirna. 

It offers both tertiary education and TAFE courses. You can study business, design, education, engineering, sciences, arts. 

The university prides itself on having many artists among its alummi, such as the famous Australian painter, Sir Sidney Robert Nolan.

Monash University

Founded in 1958, Monash is the second oldest institution among Australian universities in Victoria. It has five campuses in Melbourne's suburbs of Berwick, Clayton, Parkville, Caulfield, Frankston and one in Gipsland, 160 kilometres east of Melbourne. 

The courses span across various areas such as arts, education, health and medicine, business, law, sciences, IT.

Monash University is heavily involved in research in: climate change, stem cells, obesity prevention, IVF technology.

Victoria University

This university has a large network of campuses in the City: Flinders, Flinders Lane, King and Queen Streets, two in Footscray, Melton, Newport, Sunshine, St Albans and Werribee.

It offers the choice of both tertiary education and TAFE courses. This means you can study for one of the various degrees in business, law, arts, education, health, science, engineering. Or you can choose to study for a diploma or certificate in a number of trades or services: constructions, hospitality, IT, beauty, fashion.

For other universities in this state check the universities in Victoria page.

Like this page?

Work searching tips

No local working experience?

Barriers in getting a job

Fun stuff to buy at Amazon

Check out these Amazon books about finding jobs in Australia